Book Review

“The Women in the Castle” by Jessica Shattuck

"This is why people have children, even when they believe the world is going to hell, even when life is nothing but uncertainty. In hopes of being understood.” (p 339) Description: Amid the ashes of Nazi Germany’s defeat, Marianne von Lingenfels returns to the once-grand castle of her husband’s ancestors, an imposing stone fortress now… Continue reading “The Women in the Castle” by Jessica Shattuck

Advertisements
Book Review

Book Review: “It Happens All The Time” by Amy Hatvany

  “I’d never thought about myself unless it was in relation to how a man felt about me, too… It was time for me to learn to love myself, and let that love be enough.” (p 298) Book Description: Amber Bryant and Tyler Hicks have been best friends since they were teenagers—trusting and depending on each… Continue reading Book Review: “It Happens All The Time” by Amy Hatvany

Book Review

“The Fifth Petal” by Brunonia Barry

"Sometimes the only healing is death." (Part Three: Chapter Forty-Six) Description: Salem’s chief of police, John Rafferty, now married to gifted lace reader Towner Whitney, investigates a 25-year-old triple homicide dubbed “The Goddess Murders,” in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed one Halloween night. Aided by Callie Cahill, the… Continue reading “The Fifth Petal” by Brunonia Barry

Book Review

“I Take You” by Eliza Kennedy

Description: Meet Lily Wilder: New Yorker, lawyer extraordinaire, blushing bride. And totally incapable of being faithful to one man. Lily’s fiancé Will is a brilliant, handsome archaeologist. Lily is sassy, impulsive, fond of a good drink (or five) and has no business getting married. Lily likes Will, but does she love him? Will loves Lily, but… Continue reading “I Take You” by Eliza Kennedy

Book Review

“Everything You Want Me To Be” by Mindy Mejia

"Every book changes you in some way, whether it's your perspective on the world or how you define yourself in relation to the world." (Hattie/Monday, August 27, 2007) Description: Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small… Continue reading “Everything You Want Me To Be” by Mindy Mejia

Book Review

Jodi Picoult’s Small Great Things

Description: Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years' experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she's been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don't want Ruth, who… Continue reading Jodi Picoult’s Small Great Things

Book Review

“The Clancys of Queens” by Tara Clancy

Description: Fifth-generation New Yorker, third-generation bartender, and first-time author Tara Clancy was raised in three wildly divergent homes: a converted boat shed in working class Queens, a geriatric commune of feisty, Brooklyn-born Italians, and a sprawling Hamptons estate she visited every other weekend. This childhood triptych comes to life in The Clancys of Queens, an electric,… Continue reading “The Clancys of Queens” by Tara Clancy

Book Review

“The Girl in the Castle” by Santa Montefiore

Description: International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor. Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her.… Continue reading “The Girl in the Castle” by Santa Montefiore

Book Review

“The Brotherhood of Merlin” by Rory D Nelson

Description: Five hundred years after the death of King Arthur, a sadistic tyrant of Visi-Galia, attacks unprotected and vulnerable townships in Gilleon, igniting a deadly chain of events. Because he was unfairly denied a proper chance to compete for valuable mine rights and outbid by a Councilman from Gilleon, he reasons that he can invade… Continue reading “The Brotherhood of Merlin” by Rory D Nelson

Book Review

“The Kept Woman” by Karin Slaughter

Description: A body is discovered in an empty Atlanta warehouse. It's the body of an ex-cop, and from the moment Special Agent Will Trent walks in he knows this could be the most devastating case of his career. Bloody footprints leading away from the scene reveal that another victim - a woman - has left… Continue reading “The Kept Woman” by Karin Slaughter